Southern Illinois University School of Law–Legal Globalization & Comparative Law 2014

Home » Uncategorized » Nuremberg

Nuremberg

Image1 Image2 Image3

The train ride Nuremberg was rather enjoyable through the rolling German countryside. We shared wine, cheese, and sausage. After exploring the city by dusk we returned for a new day spent in the courthouse where the Nuremberg trials took place. The courthouse is still used as a criminal court today. We entered the room where the trials took place. I had an interesting learning moment with Dean Fountaine as she utilized one of the interactive screens in the court room which appeared to be rather entertaining and fun, as we thumbed through some of the footage, cuts of opening and closing ceremonies, etc. After immersing ourselves in the courtroom we then pressed on to the exhibit where again an audio tour guided us through the museum. Which by the way I thought was great way of conveying information to the masses that may come through the memorium door. Multiple languages could be used. I seized this opportunity to attempt to follow along with my eyes and read the German language displayed on exhibits. It may or may not have improved my German language knowledge base. But we meandered through the site choosing exhibits to learn about. It was almost to much information all at once. I would have liked a break and returned to learn more. But, none the less, it was very informative. I particularly like when physical evidence, artifacts and primary sources are displayed. But that may just be the historian in me. I thought a majority of us found it interesting that a primary school teacher was tried and convicted of conspiracy. That was rather shocking to me.

Note: I may or may not have pirated some of a tour for the blind in German where there was a large group of blind folk touring the Nuremburg exhibit. But it comforted me to see such a thing even in a foreign country. Blind people in Germany no way? Didn’t they try to eradicate these peoples from the “genetic populous”…? Fun fact my genetic eye disease was discovered in Germany. I was happy to see those with lesser sight being guided and exploring their Nation’s history. It was a rather liberating feeling.

Image4

Hausbrauerie Altstadthof bier cellars tour was an interesting experience and brewery had great food. Our tour guide was Frankonian and when we shared with her what we did I found it interesting that she had never been to the Nuremberg trials memorium. She said she hadn’t because, she was German. Any way today was most relaxing and the beer cellar tour was a nice close to the day. I had ventured off with Louis through the city but always enjoyed climbing up the city hill to the Imperial castle. I felt at home there. My plan was to post up there and find where we needed to be for the evening tour and dinner. So we did find the location and had time to tour the observation tower and the well of the castle. The individual who worked the well was a rather theatrical person who conveyed the information about the well quite easily. He reminded of Monty python character. Afterward Louis went back to get a coat. I already had one and knew where we were going. So I sat in the village on the hill right beneath the castle to relax. I listened to people sing in German at a nearby beer garden and conversed with a local who was volunteering her time and money to garden the bed beneath a tree in the street. It was a pleasant afternoon. I moved along to hear in a corridor, made of stone that was an entrance to the area, where a guitarist sang in German and for whatever reason it felt rather medieval to me. It captured my imagination as sat against the cool stone. After several songs I paid the musician and walked into the warm sunlight where I stretched and observed the people from the area again. I caught a little to much sun on my face then. But the tour time came soon enough.

~BK

Leave a Reply

